The Seven Spirits of Revelation  mn.

The Seven Spirits of Revelation 

Click to join the conversation with over 500,000 Pentecostal believers and scholars

Click to get our FREE MOBILE APP and stay connected




My daily Bible reading has brought me again to the Book of Revelation. Interestingly, I came across several people who are just starting to read Revelation again. I am ready to be blessed (Rev. 1:3). 

“1 The Revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave to Him to show to His servants things which must soon take place. He sent and signified it by His angel to His servant John, 2 who bears record of the word of God, and of the testimony of Jesus Christ, and of all things that he saw. 3 Blessed is he who reads and those who hear the words of this prophecy and keep those things which are written in it, for the time is near. 

“4 John, 

“To the seven churches which are in Asia:” 

Who Are the Seven Spirits? 

I believe these seven spirits are seven aspects of the Holy Spirit, as enumerated in Isaiah 11:2 

“Grace to you and peace from Him who is and who was and who is to come and from the seven Spirits who are before His throne, 5 and from Jesus Christ, who is the faithful witness, the firstborn from the dead, and the ruler of the kings of the earth. 

“To Him who loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood, 6 and has made us kings and priests to His God and Father, to Him be glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen. 

“7 Look! He is coming with clouds,
and every eye will see Him,
even those who pierced Him.
And all the tribes of the earth will mourn because of Him.
Even so, Amen. 

“8 ‘I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End,’ says the Lord, ‘who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.’”  

What does the seven Spirits before His throne refer to? The greeting is from the Father and Jesus and the seven Spirits, so I would think these refer to seven aspects of the Holy Spirit, as enumerated in Isaiah 11:2, which says, “The Spirit of the LORD will rest on him — the Spirit of wisdom and of understanding, the Spirit of counsel and of power, the Spirit of knowledge and of the fear of the LORD.”  

This would probably explain the seven spirits of God:  

  1. Spirit of the LORD,  
  2. Spirit of wisdom,  
  3. Spirit of understanding,  
  4. Spirit of counsel,  
  5. Spirit of power, 
  6. Spirit of knowledge 
  7. Spirit of the fear of the Lord. 

Interesting that the Holy Spirit, as well as Jesus, is described here in this greeting. And Jesus, what has He done for us: He has “loved us and washed us from our sins in His own blood, and has made us kings and priests to His God and Father.Glory! 

An Urgent Assignment 

If we are alive at the time, and we may be because the signs seem to show the time to be close, we will rejoice, but the heathen will “will mourn because of Him.” Let us bring them into the Kingdom so that they can rejoice with us. It is His desire that none be lost, and we have an urgent assignment to spread the Good News. 


Ray E Horton

Serving the Lord as encourager, reconciler, intercessor and prophetic teacher of God's Word, primarily in person and on Facebook, as well as writer and editor. Beyond, or as part of, the Ministry of Reconciliation that we are all called to, I am serving the Lord and His people as a minister of prayer at a local church, and encouraging the brethren locally among people I know, and worldwide on Facebook

Be first to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.