This Bible was divided into two classes

Posted by Luchen Bailey in Facebook's Pentecostal Theology Group View the Original Post

This Bible was divided into two classes,

1. Porto-canonical: (With out question from the beginning). 2. Deutero-canonical: (gradually won their acceptance). James, II Peter & II John. Falls into this


Brian Roden [11/20/2015 9:56 AM]
I have always heard “deuterocanonical” used to refer to the “extra” books that the Roman Catholic and Eastern Orthodox churches include, such as Wisdom of Solomon, 1 & 2 Maccabees, the extra chapters for Daniel, etc. This is the first I’ve heard that term used for the books that were debated more heavily when the church councils were discussing which books they recognized as inspired Scripture.

Luchen Bailey [11/20/2015 1:26 PM]
Thank you for your in put. Sorry that my statement on deuterocanonical (second canon) was a little ambiguous. The deuterocanon (ie. “second canon”) is a set of seven books — Sirach, Tobit, Wisdom, Judith, 1 and 2 Maccabees, and Baruch, as well as longer versions of Daniel and Esther — that are found in the Old Testament canon used by Catholics, but are not in the Old Testament canon used by Protestants, Some of the book that were excepted, were excepted by the Roman Catholic Church and the Eastern Church, but not the Protestant church. Martin Luther had a problem with some of these book and he ended up placing them at then end with Revelations. He even fought to have them removed from the canon.

Be first to comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.